To Be (Inept) or Not to Be, That is the Question

So many of us now engage in communication through platforms of social media. It’s a great tool, and there is so much that one can accomplish in this venue. Unfortunately, there are some essential rules of engagement that many people are lacking in. Youth do not always understand the consequences of their actions, but it is inexcusable for adults, particularly teachers, to put in writing the types of statements I’ve seen recently. We sometimes make mistakes; I know I have. I am learning daily the rewards of sustained thinking.

Rule #1

Never put anything in writing that you do not want to come back and have to apologize for. Granted, politicians make a living doing it, but it is a double standard for teachers. We put up with a lot, but yet are expected to be shining examples of virtue, patience, strength and wisdom. You have a constitutional right to free speech, but with greater responsibility than the “average” citizen. Think of your words like the powers of the X-Men. Your words seem so harmless, yet they mutate into an unknown realm that mere mortals don’t always understand or appreciate. Say the wrong thing, and it could be your last stand.

Rule #2

The internet lives forever (at least, for the moment). One of my favorite sayings, though slightly sarcastic in nature is, “I read it on the internet, so it must be true.” Spin your tale with great care and caution. It’s not what you spin, but it’s how you spin it that brings attention to you. Are your words gold, or fool’s gold?

Rule #3

When it doubt, leave it out. If you are betwixt and between in deciding whether or not to publish a post, you are probably a lot better off not posting at all. Did you ever get that nagging feeling that something just wasn’t quite right? If you have ever had that happen to you, then you know I am correct. How many times have I said, “I knew I should have (fill in an action verb)…?

We tend to feed off of others’ misery and woe. Many of us have the wisdom to make the right decisions in knowing what to post, and the manner in which it should be posted. Some of us do not. If you know of someone who might have the propensity to say something unwise, help them. Here’s some people that could have used your help.

Break for rant teacher

Facebook free speech or bad conduct? Either way, teacher may retire

Court Denies Reinstatement to Teacher Fired for Facebook Posts

I just want to go on record; I love everybody. I feel good; I knew that I would now.

Leave a Reply

